MES COLLEGE MARAMAPLLY

PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS CLUB ACTIVITY REPORT FOR THE ACADEMIC YEAR 2022-23

Parliamentary Affairs Club began its activities by organizing an elocution and essay writing competitions on 11th August 2022 as part of duodecillion celebrations of Indian Independence. Essay writing competition in English and Malayalam based on the theme "Democracy and Secularism in Present Indian Scenario" was conducted at the library hall and twenty-two students participated in it. Ms. Fassam Aboobacker(S3 MA English) secured the first prize and Ms. Atheela Ibrahim(S3 MA English) and Ms. Rasiya Mahin(S3 BA English) shared the second prize for English essay writing competition. The winners for the Malayalam essay writing were Ms. Maneesa Nasreen T(S3 MSC computer science) who secured the first prize and Ms. Alfia Assis(S3 MSC computer science) secured the second prize.

Seven students participated in the Elocution competition which was on the topic 'Susthira Vikasanam – Keraleeya Sahacharyangalil'. Ms. Mina M H, S5 BSc Psychology won first prize, Mr. Aadhil Abdulla, S3 BCA secured second prize and Ms. Sana M Anvar, S5 BSc Psychology bagged the third prize.

A national seminar on '75 years of India as a Democratic Republic' was jointly organized by the Parliamentary Affairs Club and Research Promotion Council, MES College Marampally in association with Govt. Law College Ernakulam on 10 & 11 October 2022. The inaugural function was presided over by Dr. Ajims P Mohammed, Dr. Jaseena K U, Coordinator of Research Promotion Council warmly welcomed the gathering and Dr. Arun Kumar, Media Celebrity and Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, Kerala University inaugurated the programme. College Managing Committee Chairman Adv. A A Abul Hassan also addressed the gathering and Dr. Jasmine P M, Vice Principal and Dr. Shemi P m, Staff Association Secretary felicitated the programme. Mr. Jasir M P, Coordinator, Parliamentary Affairs Club delivered vote of thanks to the inaugural session.

First session followed by the inauguration was handled by the Chief guest Dr. Arun Kumar on the topic 'Constitution and Concept of Social Justice'. The second session was on 'Evolution of Indian Nationalism' led by Dr. Sunil P Ilayidom, Associate Professor, Sree Shankaracharya University of Sanskrit, Kalady.

Second day there were five sessions. The first session was on the topic 'Indian Democracy: Potential and Limitations' handled by Adv. A Jayasankar, Social Critic & Political Analyst. The keynote speaker for the second session was Dr. Pauly Mathew Murickan, Advocate of Kerala High Court. He elaborated on the topic The role of the Court and the Media in the protection of democracy'. The third session was taken by Dr. T K Jabir, Assistant Professor, Institute for Multidisciplinary Programmes in Social Sciences, Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam on the topic 'Freedom, Religion, and Democracy: Anthropology views'. Dr. Joby Bhaskar, Assistant Professor, Govt. Law College Ernakulam handled the fourth session on 'Parliamentary System and Elections'. The last session was paper presentations followed by the valedictory session.























Coordinator

Mr. Jasir M P

Joint Coordinators

Ms. Roshni Alex

Dr. Sajna K Muhammed

Ms. Fathima K M